Centers and Institutes Application Process and Forms

Chartering and Re-Chartering Information

The Office of the Vice President for Research’s policy of chartering and re-chartering research centers and institutes facilitates the strengthening of research and scholarly activity throughout the university. Becoming a chartered center or institute reflects a university seal of approval and results in the inclusion in listings of research units.

A center or institute charter may be approved for a duration of one to five years.

Definitions of Research Centers and Institutes

A center is a research unit that typically has a single focus or mission and is usually located within a single school, although its faculty may draw at times on the expertise of faculty in other schools or disciplines to support their work. The center typically reports to the dean of that school.

An institute is typically cross-disciplinary in nature and involves faculty from different schools or, at least, representatives of diverse departments and disciplines within a single school.

Application Process

Faculty seeking to establish or re-charter an organized research unit should submit the application form to the Office of the Vice President for Research. The Advisory Council for Research (ACR) meets throughout the academic year to review applications.

For more information about chartering, re-chartering, modifying or closing a center or institute, please review the Chartered Research Centers and Institutes Manual (PDF) and/or contact [email protected].

Deadlines and Meeting Dates

Application Deadline Meeting Date
Thursday, September 6, 2018 Thursday, September 27, 2018 - Cancelled
 
Tuesday, October 9, 2018 Tuesday, October 30, 2018 -Cancelled
Marvin Center 403
Wednesday, November 6, 2018 Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Marvin Center 403
Friday, December 21, 2018 Thursday, January 17, 2019
Marvin Center 403
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Marvin Center 403
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Marvin Center 403
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Marvin Center 403

The above deadlines correspond to scheduled meetings of the Advisory Council for Research.  *Charter and Re-charter materials must be submitted no later than 21 business days prior to the next scheduled ACR meeting to be reviewed.  

Forms

·         Application for Chartering (PDF)

o   Membership Confirmation

o   Budget Template

·         Applications for Re-Chartering or Major Modifications (PDF)

o   Membership Confirmation

o   Budget Template

·         Application for Closing a Charter (PDF)